Executive

The day-to-day affairs of the Association are managed by an elected Executive Committee of some 15 or so members, most of whom are elected by the general membership of the Association. The composition of the Executive and terms of office for the various positions are specified in the Association's Constitution. Current membership is shown below.

Contact details for individual members are provided for the purposes of correspondence to do with members' individual portfolios only.

General correspondence to the Executive should be directed via the AARE Office

 

Position Name and Contact Details
President
2021-2022
Prof Allyson Holbrook
University of Newcastle
allyson.holbrook@newcastle.edu.au
Immediate Past President  
2021
Prof Debra Hayes
University of Sydney
deb.hayes@sydney.edu.au
Secretary
2021-23
Prof Bernadette Walker-Gibbs
LaTrobe University
b.walker-gibbs@latrobe.edu.au
Treasurer
2019-21
Prof Michele Simons
Western Sydney University
michele.simons@westernsydney.edu.au
Editor AER
2017-22
A/Prof Nicole Mockler
University of Sydney
nicole.mockler@sydney.edu.au
Communications Co-ordinator
2021-23
A/Prof Robert Parkes
University Of Newcastle
robert.parkes@newcastle.edu.au
Conferences Standing Committee Co-Chair
2019-21 (Co-opted)
Dr Amanda Heffernan
Monash University
amanda.heffernan@monash.edu
 Conferences Standing Committee Co-Chair
2019-21(Co-opted)
A/Prof Stewart Riddle
University of Southern Queensland
stewart.riddle@usq.edu.au
Ordinary Member Early Career Researcher
2020-2021
Dr Angelique Howell
University Of Queensland
a.howell@uq.edu.au
Indigenous Researcher Liaison
 
Prof Gawaian Bodkin-Andrews
University of Technology Sydney
gawaian.bodkin-andrews@uts.edu.au
Co-opted Indigenous Member TBC
Ordinary Member
2020-21 
Dr lisahunter
Monash University
lisahunter@monash.edu
Ordinary Member
2019-20
Dr Sara Weuffen
Federation University Australia
sara.weuffen@rmitonline.edu.au
SIGs Co-ordinator
2019-20
A/Prof Ilektra Spandagou
University Of Sydney
ilektra.spandagou@sydney.edu.au
Ordinary Member Postgraduate Student 
2019-20
Miss Natalie Downes
Univeristy Of Canberra
u3026977@uni.canberra.edu.au
Research Development Co-ordinator 
2020
TBC
Chair, Selection Committee, Award for Doctoral Research in Education Prof Susan Danby
Qld University of Technology
s.danby@qut.edu.au
AARE Public Officer Prof Robert Hattam
University of South Australia
robert.hattam@unisa.edu.au
Office and Events Manager Mrs Deborah Cracknell
AARE
aare@aare.edu.au

 

Past Office Bearers

Download AARE Executive Office Holders 1996-2017 (PDF)

Benefits of nominating for Executive

Thinking of nominating to be an Executive member? Hear what previous Executive members think about being involved.

Abbey MacDonald ECR Representative 2016 -2017

YouTube