Executive

The day-to-day affairs of the Association are managed by an elected Executive Committee of some 15 or so members, most of whom are elected by the general membership of the Association. The composition of the Executive and terms of office for the various positions are specified in the Association's Constitution. Current membership is shown below.

Contact details for individual members are provided for the purposes of correspondence to do with members' individual portfolios only.

General correspondence to the Executive should be directed via the AARE Office

 

Position Name and Contact Details
President
2021-2022
Prof Allyson Holbrook
University of Newcastle
allyson.holbrook@newcastle.edu.au
President Elect  
2022
Prof Julie McLeod
University Of Melbourne
jemcleod@unimelb.edu.au
Secretary
2021-2023
Prof John Lester
Newcastle University
john.lester@newcastle.edu.au
Treasurer
2022-2024
Prof Michele Simons
Western Sydney University
michele.simons@westernsydney.edu.au
Editor AER
2020-2022
A/Prof Nicole Mockler
University of Sydney
nicole.mockler@sydney.edu.au
Communications Co-ordinator
2022-2023
Dr Abbey MacDonald
University of Tasmania
abbeym@utas.edu.au
Co-opted Conferences Standing Committee Chair
2022-2024
Dr Kathryn Grushka
University Of Newcastle
kath.grushka@newcastle.edu.au
Ordinary Member Early Career Researcher
2022-2023
Dr Ellen Larsen
University of Southern Queensland
ellen.larsen@usq.edu.au
Indigenous Researcher Liaison
2022-2024
Prof Gawaian Bodkin-Andrews
Western Sydney University
g.bodkinandrews@westernsydney.edu.au
Co-opted Indigenous Member VACANT
Ordinary Member
2022-2023 
Dr Olivia Johnston
Edith Cowan University
o.johnston@ecu.edu.au
Ordinary Member
2021-2022
Dr Sara Weuffen
University of New South Wales
s.weuffen@unsw.edu.au
SIGs Co-ordinator
2021-2023
A/Prof Ilektra Spandagou
University Of Sydney
ilektra.spandagou@sydney.edu.au
Ordinary Member Postgraduate Student 
2021-2022
Miss Natalie Downes
Univeristy Of Canberra
natalie.downes@canberra.edu.au
Research Development Co-ordinator 
2022-2024
Prof Anna Sullivan
University of South Australia
anna.sullivan@unisa.edu.au
Chair, Selection Committee, Award for Doctoral Research in Education Prof Susan Danby
Queensland University of Technology
s.danby@qut.edu.au
AARE Public Officer Prof Robert Hattam
University of South Australia
robert.hattam@unisa.edu.au
Executive Office  Ms Amanda Mehegan
AARE
office@aare.edu.au
SIG & Administration Assistant Susie Knight
AARE
aare@aare.edu.au

Call for nominations for the Executive Committee of AARE. 

Nominations have closed for 2021

Information

Nominate here

Past Office Bearers

Past Office Bearers of AARE 

Benefits of nominating for Executive

Thinking of nominating to be an Executive member? Hear what previous Executive members think about being involved.

Abbey MacDonald ECR Representative 2016 -2017