Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Post Graduate Researcher Award


The AARE Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Researcher Award recognises an outstanding paper given by a Postgraduate Student who identifies as an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person at the AARE Annual Conference.

This award is intended to support the participation and inclusion of Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander people in the educational research community AARE Postgraduate Student Researcher Awards are available to assist postgraduate students to attend and participate in the annual AARE Conference.

Funding round: single round per annum

Applications due: 31 August 2018

Status of funding round: closed

Amount: up to $500


Eligibility criteria

To be eligible for consideration for an award, applicants must meet all of the following criteria:

  • be a member of AARE
  • identify as an Aboriginal and/or Torres Strait Islander person
  • be enrolled in a postgraduate research program in a relevant area of study at an Australian higher education institution
  • meet the closing date for abstract submission
  • submit a first-authored conference paper for review by the conference awards committee to the awards email address by 31 August
  • be able to attend the full conference
  • have a paper accepted for presentation at the conference through the abstract submission process via the AARE conference website
  • deliver the paper as scheduled
  • have not previously received an AARE Postgraduate Student Researcher Award or an AARE Indigenous Postgraduate Researcher Award

It is possible to submit a jointly authored paper for an award. Award applicants must be the first named author on the paper. AARE places the responsibility for full disclosure to co-authors with the first author of a paper submitted for consideration in these award categories.  It is not a requirement that award papers be included in the conference proceedings.

Merit criteria

As the intent of the awards is to honour and facilitate high quality scholarship, applications will be judged on the basis of the following academic merit criteria:

  • Originality
  • Contemporary significance and/or scholarly relevance
  • Conceptual, methodological and theoretical soundness
  • Disciplined, focused and persuasive argument
  • Coherent organisation and clarity of written expression
  • Comprehensive reference to appropriate literature

Only one paper per researcher or research team should be submitted for the Award in any year. Papers previously submitted may not be resubmitted. The same paper cannot be submitted for more than one award in any year.


  • Funds will be made available following the conference paper presentation.
  • The winner of the Award may be invited by the editor of The Australian Educational Researcher to submit the paper for consideration for publication in the journal (subject to double blind peer review).
  • Eligible persons may apply for the Award themselves, or may be nominated by another person (e.g., a colleague or supervisor or a conference paper reviewer or referee).

How to apply

  • Applicants must meet the AARE Conference deadlines for abstract submission, and award application submission dates.
  • Submit an abstract via the AARE Conference online submission system by the submission closing date as advertised each year.
  • On 31 August submit:
    • a covering letter addressing the eligibility criteria for the award;
    • a copy of the full paper;
    • and proof of acceptance to the conference;
  • Applications should be emailed to AARE Awards with the subject line stating: full name, the paper code assigned to your submitted abstract, and include the award name (e.g. Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Postgraduate Student Researcher Award).
  • Use this form to apply
  • Paper guidelines

Selection process

Applications will be assessed by the Awards Panel which is convened each year by the Awards Convenor. The panel’s decision will be final and no further correspondence will be entered into.


AARE Awards

Previous awardees


Michelle Bishop Macquarie University

Indigenous education sovereignty: Enough’s enough

Show all awardees »