Skip Navigation

Congratulations: 2014 AARE Award Recipients

Each year AARE presents a suite of prestigious awards to recognise excellence in research in education across a variety of categories. AARE is committed to recognising quality research through these awards. The details of submission processes and selection criteria for 2015 will be updated on the AARE website very soon. Please consider applying for these awards and also encourage others, such as students and early career colleagues to be involved.

Congratulations to the 2014 AARE Award winners. They are as follows:

Ray Debus Award for Doctoral Research in Education

Originally known as the AARE Award for Doctoral Research in Education, the first award was made in 1989. In 2014 the Award was renamed in honour of Dr Ray Debus, AARE founding member and Honorary Life Member, who passed away early that year. Ray had the distinction of having attended all 44 AARE annual conferences held from the association’s founding up to 2013. During his many years at the University of Sydney, Ray mentored many doctoral students and early career researchers.

(Joint recipients)

Dr Susan Creagh, for her thesis entitled: ‘'A Foucauldian and Quantitative Analysis of NAPLaN, the category ‘Language Background Other Than English’, and English as a Second Language Level’ completed at The University of Queensland.

Dr Cheryl Jakab, for her thesis entitled: ‘'Molecules as Tools: Discourse, artefacts and children’s meaning-making about particles of matter’ completed at The University of Melbourne. 

Betty Watts Indigenous Researcher Award

Dr Robyn Heckenberg, Federation University, for her paper entitled: ‘Cultural interfaces: Cultural mapping and learning in place: Sustainable Values’. 




Early Career Researcher Award 

Dr Hannah Soong, University of South Australia, for her paper entitled: ‘The Imagination of Mobility: Windows into Australian Teacher Education as a Site of Transnational Lifeworld Negotiations’. Hannah’s forthcoming book upon which the concepts in the paper have been drawn is Transnational Students and Mobility: Lived Experiences of Migration. London, Routledge (in press 2015).

Postgraduate Student Research Awards 

Md Aktaruzzaman, Monash University, for his paper entitled: ‘Community Perception Towards Integrating Vocational Elements in Open and Distance Learning in Bangladesh’. 




Uswatun Qoyyimah
Queensland University of Technology. For her paper ‘Secular and Religious Moral Grounds Resonating Across State Schools in Indonesia’.




Sandra Houen
Queensland University of Technology.  for her paper '”I Wonder What You Know…’: Teachers Designing Requests for Factual Information’.




ACDE Postgraduate/Early Career Researcher Poster Award 

Sally Staton, Queensland University of Technology, for her paper entitled: ‘Mandatory sleep practices in early childhood education and care settings: Implications for children's night-time sleep’.



Springer AER Best Paper Award 

Dr Susan Creagh, The University of Queensland, for her paper entitled: ‘A critical analysis of problems with the LBOTE category on the NAPLaN test’. March 2014, Volume 41, Issue 1, pp 1-23.



Radford Lecture

Professor Terry Seddon, Australian Catholic University, Navigating 21st Century Contexts: Reflections on education and knowledge-authority orders. 




Honorary Life Membership Award

Professor Jo-Anne Reid, Charles Sturt University.






Prepared by: Amanda Keddie. 


<< Previous Article
Next Article >>