Skip Navigation

Conference News

Dear Colleagues,

I hope you have all had a wonderful start to 2015 and looking forward to the upcoming Easter break.

It was wonderful to see so many of you at the AARE-NZARE conference in Brisbane last year. We appreciated the feedback you provided on the conference survey and the Conferences Standing Committee have been working hard on suggestions to continue to improve the overall quality of the experience for delegates. Thank you also for the positive feedback on last year’s conference which was very much appreciated as well.

I would like to take this opportunity to acknowledge the other members of the Conferences Standing Committee (CSC) for 2015. They are:  

  • Ms Deborah Cracknell (AARE Office & Events Manager)
  • Ms Debra Cunningham (AARE Executive Management Team Representative)
  • Professor Tracey Bunda (Indigenous Research & Engagement)
  • A/P Sue Saltmarsh (Special Interest Group (SIG) Coordinator)
  • Professor Michele Simons (Treasurer)
  • Dr Anne Coffey (Local Member: University of Notre Dame)
  • Dr Derek Hurrell (Local Member: University of Notre Dame)
  • Ms Sara Weuffen (Postgraduate Student Member)
  • Dr Lisa Papatraianou (Early Career Researcher Member)
  • Dr Amanda Keddie (Awards Co-ordinator)

I would also like to thank the following CSC members from 2014 for their outstanding work in their respective roles last year. They include:

  • Ms Kim Pappaluca (Early Career Researcher Member)
  • A/P Annette Woods (Awards Co-ordinator)
  • A/P Jenny Ritchie (Local Member: NZARE)
  • A/P Cheryl Stephens (Local Member: NZARE)

Think Business Events (TBE) were our Professional Conference Organisers last year and special recognition goes to Ms Kim Stevenson, Ms Denise Broeren and Ms Melanie Miller for the wonderful job they did in organising the many complex aspects of a conference of this size.

In addition, we were very appreciative of the support of the Queensland University of Technology in the preparation for and hosting of the AARE-NZARE conference and particularly to Professor Wendy Patton the Dean of Education who made us feel very welcome. Professor Carol Dickenson provided the welcome to the conference on behalf of QUT which was also greatly appreciated. A/Prof Annette Woods also played a pivotal role as both a CSC member and a QUT staff member in ensuring important aspects such as rooms, signage and technology was in hand and we are very grateful for her commitment, enthusiasm and professionalism throughout.

International Conferences and Events (ICE) are our new Professional Conference Organisers for 2015 and have been very busy preparing for this year’s conference. Due to their hard work, we will be able to open the Call for Abstracts much earlier this year and for a longer period of time to enable delegates ample time to make arrangements to attend. As you are aware this year’s AARE conference is in beautiful Fremantle, Western Australia. We are delighted that the University of Notre Dame (Fremantle campus) will be the venue.  The theme for this year’s conference is Coast to coast: locations and directions in educational research.

The speaker program has almost been finalised. The Radford Lecture will be presented by Professor Barbara Comber (Queensland University of Technology). Barbara's current work focuses on ethical educational leadership, teachers’ work in literacy classrooms and the affordances of place-conscious pedagogies for developing critical and creative literacies. The other keynote speakers are Professor Deevia Bhana (University of KwaZulu-Natal) who has published widely in the areas of childhood sexualities, gender inequalities and schooling; and Dr Lyn Henderson-Yates (University of Notre Dame) an Aboriginal woman from Derby in the West Kimberley whose work focuses on history, education, identity, racism, human rights and oral history and more recently the impact of globalisation on Aboriginal Australian people. The fourth keynote speakers who will provide a joint presentation are Professor Bobby Harreveld (Central Queensland University) and Professor Michael Singh (University of Western Sydney). Their joint research interests outlined on the conference website will be of great interest to those interested in vocational education and lifelong learning.

Thank you to all of our speakers for accepting this invitation to provide a keynote address at the 2015 AARE conference.

If you would like to find out more about the speaker program please [Click Here]

If you would like to register to receive conference information as it arises please provide your details [Here].

<< Previous Article
Next Article >>