Skip Navigation

Representative Symposiums

Each year, AARE invites and in turn is invited to provided a symposium to the British Educational Research Association (BERA) and American Educational Research Association (AERA). These representative symposia are decided by Expressions of Interest sent to EOIs are reviewed by the Representative Symposium Panel which is made up of six AARE members.

These volunteers are appointed to review EOIs for invited symposia at our peer Associations throughout the period March 2018 to March 2019. AARE thanks these volunteers for taking time out of their busy schedules to assist with these reviews. 


($5,000 funding provided)


Dr Aspa Baroutsis -  Education Research and the Media: Challenges and Possibilities

Dr Aspa Baroutsis, Griiffith University 

Professor Pat Thomson, The University of Nottingham

Dr Stewart Riddle, University of Southern Queensland

Professor Martin Thrupp,  University of Waikato, New Zealand

Associate Professor Nicole Mockler, University of Sydney  

Professor Linda Graham, Queensland University of Technology

Dr Lucinda McKnight, Deakin University

Discussant: Professor Jill Blackmore, Deakin University


Sally Baker  - Exploring the conceptual, methodological and ethical challenges’ with the following participants

Dr Sally Baker - Research Associate, Centre of Excellence for Equity in Higher Education, University of Newcastle

Dr Mary Taiwo - Research Officer, Widening Participation, Macquarie University

Shelley Gower - Research Assistant, Faculty of Health Sciences, Curtin University

Chair: Professor Geoff Whitty - University of Newcastle, NSW 

Discussant: Professor Jacqueline Stevenson - Head of Research, Sheffield Hallam University, UK 


($5,000 funding)

2018 (no funding)

Simone White - Strengthening a research-rich teaching profession in Australia with the following participants

Professor Martin Mills, University of Queensland

Professor Simone White, Queensland University of Technology

Professor Joce Nuttall, Australian Catholic University

Professor Barry Down, Murdoch University

Professor Sue Shore, Charles Darwin University

Ms Katherine Bussey, Australian Catholic University

Chair: Professor Annette Woods Queensland University of Technology, Brisbane Australia

Discussant: Professor Jo Lampert, La Trobe University, Melbourne, Australia



Member login

Join Now

World Curriculum Studies Conference
NZARE Conference
National Research Repository
AVETRA Conference